Undergraduate Council

As one of several standing committees established by the UO Senate, the Undergraduate Council (UGC) is responsible for reviewing, evaluating, and enhancing the quality of the UO’s academic programs. The council reports to the University Senate. The Vice Provost for Undergraduate Studies acts as the convener for this committee.

Charge and Responsibilities

The Undergraduate Council’s charge is to:

  1. Review and promote the objectives and purposes of undergraduate education and assure that all policies and procedures, curricula, personnel and teaching decisions that affect undergraduate education are consistent and defensible with the institution’s undergraduate education mission as defined in the University’s Mission Statement and Statement of Philosophy for Undergraduate Education

  2. Participate on behalf of the University faculty in planning the development and improvement of the undergraduate instructional program of the institution in consultation with the University President, officers of administration, and relevant department heads and program directors

  3. Formulate, monitor, and respond to general academic policies, especially those that affect undergraduate programs

  4. Develop and recommend new and revised bachelor’s degree requirements and policies

  5. Monitor, help shape, and approve changes to existing and new undergraduate programs (e.g., majors, minors, certificate programs)

  6. Establish criteria and outcomes to measure the success of the undergraduate program and review the program and its various components against them

  7. Monitor the academic coherence, quality, and standards of undergraduate academics to assure that the quality and rigor of instruction and evaluation are consistent across the curriculum.



All elected members serve staggered, three-year terms, except for students, who serve one-year terms. Membership includes 11 elected faculty members representing various subject areas, representatives from administrative units across campus, and students as described below:

The 11 elected faculty members represent the following:

  • School of Architecture and Allied Arts (1)

  • College of Business (1)

  • College of Education (1)

  • School of Journalism and Communication (1)

  • School of Music and Dance (1)

  • Honors College (1)

  • College of Arts and Sciences (5 with no 2 from the same department; 1 each from Humanities, Social Sciences, and Natural Sciences; and 2 at-large representatives)

Other members represent the following:

  • Vice Provost for Undergraduate Studies (ex officio, non-voting, convener)

  • Chair of the Committee on Courses

  • Chair of the CAS Curriculum Committee;

  • 4 students (with no more than 2 from the same school or college)

  • University Registrar (ex officio, non-voting)

  • Representative from the Office of Academic Affairs (ex officio, non-voting)

  • Director of the Office of Academic Advising (ex officio, non-voting)

  • Director of the Teaching Effectiveness Program (ex officio, non-voting)

  • Representative from the President’s Office (ex officio, non-voting)

  • Representative from the UO Libraries (ex officio, non-voting)

Learn more about the UGC or contact Maeve Anderson.